We're a client oriented firm. It means providing the level best in service, possible, regardless of the time of day.
Experience means we've seen or handled virtually every type of criminal defense situation. It means you can trust us.
When you hire our firm, you always work directly with an attorney whose responsible for managing your case.
Driving Under the Influence is one of the more serious crimes that you might face as a Lancaster resident. Depending on your body size and tolerance level, it can only take one extra drink at the end of the night to put you over the legal limit. Here at H&M, we know that you might feel nervous and even scared when you see those red and blue flashing lights in your rear view mirror. No matter what you blew on the test or what happened when the police pulled you over, we can help. Get in touch with us right away.
What Happens When an Officer Pulls You Over?
When a police officer pulls you over, the officer has the right to check you for signs of substance abuse. The officer can give you a field sobriety test that asks you to stand on one foot, touch your nose, recite the alphabet or perform other simple tasks. The officer can also ask you to take a breathalyzer test on the scene. If you refuse to take that test, the officer has the right to arrest you and take you back to the station. Even if you refuse to take the test, you can still face a DUI charge.
The court generally views first-time offenders with more leniency than repeat offenders. If you received your first citation for a DUI, you have more options available to you. Depending on the level that you blew, we might have the ability to get the case thrown out of court without that citation appearing on your permanent record. We can also work with the court to get you sentencing that doesn’t require jail time. Attending a court order rehabilitation program or doing community service are some suitable options.
Many states have a zero tolerance policy that lets juveniles have a blood alcohol concentration of .02 percent or higher, but California’s zero tolerance policy is much stricter. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you cannot operate a motor vehicle with a BAC higher than .01 percent. Many juvenile offenders face jail time and thousands of dollars in fines. Working with us can help you walk out of the courtroom with fewer fines and just a few hours of community service. If you complete that community service, the judge may even wipe your record clean.
Repeat offenders refer to anyone convicted of a DUI offense two or times. The more times you face the judge, the harsher your penalties are. Multiple offenses can leave you with an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device requires that you breathe into a tube every time you get in your car. Unless you have no alcohol on your breath, the device won’t let you stop your car. Multiple offenses can also lead to a long-term suspension of your license or a permanent suspension on your license. Get legal help before you face the judge.
Working with H&M
Based out of Los Angeles, we have a better understanding of the California court systems than other DUI lawyers have. One of the founders of our firm spent some time as a District Attorney, which gives him a unique perspective on the court system and the charges that you face. Not only do we fight for you, but we also investigate the case on our own. This helps us see if there is anything the prosecution missed, including any medical conditions you have or the officer who arrested you. Get in touch with us before you see the judge.